IluminadaEC

Join us on the journey of self transformation. BE who you are meant to BEcome.

Never Stop…

on March 5, 2015



“I never stopped loving you, I just stopped showing it.” I don’t know who wrote this quote. I’m guessing it’s a cheesy quote from the dialogue of a romance chick flick.

Lately, I’ve seen this quote posted in many places, by different people, different groups and online social media pages.

When something shows up in my face more than once, I usually ponder on what does it mean.

Mark Neppo says in his book, Finding Inner Courage, the Spanish translation of the question “what does it mean?” literally states “what does it want to say?” (¿Qué quiere decir?)

So I asked myself, “What meaning do these words have for me?“. “What are they telling me?

I’ve always been an overly expressive person. As a child, I would jump into the arms of whichever loved one was in front of me. I would kiss them and hug them tight. I never cared about where we were or if it was the appropriate place for my love fest.

B

Believe it or not, at almost 46 years old, I have not changed much.

I now live in a place where my ways of demonstrating the joy I feel when I see a loved one are sometimes seemingly unfit. It’s been a struggle to tame myself, my joy, my love.

As adults, we try to show our children how to act, how to show up… Yet, I must admit to you that I enjoy the freedom of how children show their love.

So, going back to the quote I mentioned above. What does it want to say to me? 

The quote tells me that I am who I am. That I must show up as I am. I must love as I love. It also tells me that my loved ones are who they are and love how they love. They too, must show up as they are. This means that I must honor their ways as much as I want them to honor mine.

I have come to the conclusion that, whether I show it profusely or not, I will never stop loving the people I love. I will never stop showing my love and my joy. 

 Hopefully the quote, “I never stopped loving you, I just stopped showing it.“…will not show up again.

Alicia


2 responses to “Never Stop…

  1. Vera Lindabury says:

    Your words of liking the way children show their love reminded me of our lunch in Arcadia On return trip from Lakeland .. There wash A little girl in a high chair as we stepped Inside and she made direct eye contact as She beamed a welcoming smile– warmed My heart 💗💗💗💚❤️💜 Vera

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment