IluminadaEC

Join us on the journey of self transformation. BE who you are meant to BEcome.

Balancing Act… (Un Acto de Equilibrismo)

on September 9, 2012

This picture above my words reads: “Staying in the present moment is like walking a tight rope in the dark. You have to feel it.”

My life is a balancing act. Many of my days go by with me walking on a tight rope without a safety net (a visible one at least) and almost about to lose my equilibrium more than once. Sometimes I carry a virtual long stick that allows me to balance myself and move a few steps forward, and sometimes I am empty handed trying to walk backwards into what I believe is “safe and known” (yet not necessarily good).

Very few people know exactly what goes on during a “normal” day for me. Some mornings I wonder when it will end (if it will actually end). Is it worth it to keep on going and try to chase my dreams or should I just throw the towel and run away? Other mornings I get up with no hope whatsoever. I admit it.

During these almost ten months of being a widow, every time I’ve felt a surge of energy, a spark of light, a grasp of air, something has happened that feels like a punch to my stomach, so hard and so “low” it blows out all of my candles and leaves me in the dark laying on the floor completely out of breath.

My heart is so broken and shattered, when these low winds of change blow, I see pieces of it simply blown away and I’m not sure if I’ll ever recover them.

It doesn’t matter how many good days I have or how intense and bright they are, I always end up having a terrible one, or two… in a row.

I feel extremely lonely during these times. I’m sure only a handful of the people around me understand what I mean with these words. I can tell you that most of the times I don’t know how to express what I feel because it is so unfamiliar to me… like an uncharted territory, or a tight rope leading into nowhere.

I am not complaining…I am opening my soul to you.

I must say though, that I’ve learned a lot about ME through these trying times.

I have learned that I am exceptionally resilient even though it seems as if I’m usually rigid. I have learned that even when I feel there’s no hope at all, I still get up and end up finding that there was a miracle waiting to happen only because I got up. I have learned that every time I feel those blows and end up in the dark and on the floor, I have the opportunity to regain some strength and “see” things from a different perspective and under a different light because there’s a tiny spark in me that never dies and constantly tries to show me the “way”.

I have learned that my shattered heart’s cracks and missing pieces are being patiently “repaired” with a gold infused resin, like the ancient Japanese art kintsugi, which states that unexpected damage can be an opportunity. To me, an opportunity to grow, to move forward, to be more compassionate and less judgmental.

I have learned that when I am down the only way to pull through is to “look up” to a Higher Power.

I have learned that to keep my balance I have to be able to “feel” the rope under my feet, and the only way of doing that is by closing my eyes, staying in the present moment and listening to the “still small voice” that guides me as I move forward. I have also learned that no matter how many steps back I take, I will always be able to move forward if decide to. After all, the movement of my feet is exactly the same whether I choose to go one way or the other. And if I don’t have the virtual stick I mentioned before, I can always spread my arms wide open and balance myself with MY Higher Self.

Alicia

* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

La foto que está encima de mis palabras dice: “Permanecer en el momento presente es como caminar en una cuerda floja de noche. Tienes que sentirla.”

Mi vida es un acto de equilibrismo. Muchos de mis días pasan conmigo caminando en una cuerda floja sin red de seguridad (una visible por lo menos) y yo a punto de perder el equilibrio más de una vez. Algunas veces llevo conmigo una vara virtual que me proporciona balance y puedo moverme algunos pasos hacia el frente, otras veces no tengo nada y trato de ir hacia atrás a lo que considero “conocido y seguro” (aunque no necesariamente bueno).

Muy pocas personas saben cómo pasa un día “normal” para mí. Algunas mañanas me pregunto ¿cuándo se acabará esto? (o si es que de hecho acabará).  ¿Vale la pena levantarme cada día y tratar de perseguir mis sueños o mejor tiro la toalla y me largo? Otras mañanas me levanto sin ninguna esperanza. Lo admito.

Durante estos casi diez meses de viudez, cada vez que he sentido un incremento de energía, una chispa de luz, una bocanada de aire, algo pasa que se siente como un golpe al estómago, tan fuerte y tan “bajo” que apaga todas mis velas y me deja tirada en el suelo, en la oscuridad y sin poder respirar.

Mi corazón está tan roto y desecho que cada vez que estos vientos de cambio soplan, veo pedazos volar y no estoy segura si alguna vez los recuperaré.

No importa cuántos días buenos tenga o cuan brillantes sean, siempre termino teniendo uno terrible, o dos… seguidos.

Durante esos días me siento extremadamente solitaria. Estoy segura de que con los dedos de una mano puedo contar a las personas que entienden lo que realmente quiero decir con mis palabras. Puedo decirles que la mayoría de las veces no sé cómo expresar lo que siento porque no es algo familiar…como un territorio sin descubrir o una cuerda floja que no lleva a ningún lado.

No me estoy quejando… les estoy abriendo mi alma.

Sin embargo debo decir que he aprendido mucho de MI durante estas tribulaciones.

He aprendido que soy excepcionalmente resistente y flexible a pesar de que doy la impresión de ser muy rígida. He aprendido que aun cuando sienta que no hay esperanza  de todas maneras me levanto cada mañana y me encuentro con que un milagro ocurre solo porque tuve el valor de levantarme. He aprendido que cuando esos golpes bajos me atacan y termino en el suelo y a oscuras, tengo la oportunidad de fortalecerme y “ver” las cosas desde otro ángulo porque hay una pequeña chispa en mí que nunca muere y trata siempre  de mostrarme el “camino”.

He aprendido que las grietas de mi corazón roto están siendo pacientemente “reparadas” con una resina impregnada en oro, como en el antiguo arte japonés del kintsugi, el cual dictamina que un daño inesperado puede ser una oportunidad. Para mí, una oportunidad de crecer, de moverme hacia adelante, de tener más compasión y de juzgar menos.

He aprendido que cuando estoy abajo la única forma de salir es mirando hacia arriba, hacia un Poder Mayor.

He aprendido que para mantener el equilibrio tengo que poder “sentir” la cuerda bajo mis pies, y la única forma de hacer eso es cerrando los ojos, estando en el momento presente y escuchando a la “pequeña voz interna” que me guía mientras camino hacia adelante. También he aprendido que sin importar cuantos pasos de hacia atrás, siempre podré seguir adelante si así lo decido. Después de todo, el movimiento de mis pies es exactamente igual camine hacia el lado que sea. Y, si no poseo la vara virtual que mencioné anteriormente, pues abro mis brazos y me balanceo a mi misma con MI Ser Supremo.

Alicia

4 responses to “Balancing Act… (Un Acto de Equilibrismo)

  1. This is so well written because in reading it I am feeling your pain and your heartache and feel like I am on this journey with you. It seems that as you write you are also answering your own questions and that you know where all the answers are. Its just having the courage to get to that deep place inside of your soul that wants to tell you everything will be alright when you truly believe that this is just part of your journey.

  2. Terry says:

    You are POWERFUL girl. ❤

Leave a Reply

